In the mid-1980’s the Nebraska Legislature passed the Chemigation Act to protect our ground and surface water from possible contamination. The operator of a chemigation system is required to obtain a permit before chemigating. Permit holders are primarily liable for any damage resulting from chemigation and for maintenance expenses on their chemigation equipment.
Before a chemigation permit can be granted the operator is required to attend a certification class and pass a written exam. This certification is good for four years and entitles the operator to apply for a chemigation permit. Applicator/certification classes are sponsored by the University of Nebraska Cooperative Extension and are held in various locations during the winter and spring each year.
Under provisions of the Nebraska Chemigation Act, Natural Resources Districts (NRDs) are responsible for inspecting each irrigation system through which any agricultural chemical will be applied to ensure that mandatory safety devices are installed and functioning. All operating permits are subject to periodic random inspections to ensure continued compliance. Any new system must be inspected before chemigation can begin.
Chemigation Permit Fees
Download: UNWNRD Chemigation Permit
New Permits: $75 per injection site
Renewal Permits: $25 per injection site
Emergency Permits: $300 per injection site
All permits are good for one year, expiring on June 1. New permits approved at any time during the calendar year expire on June 1 of the following year.
As a courtesy to operators, renewal applications are mailed out from the UNWNRD office. However, it is the responsibility of each operator to contact the UNWNRD if he/she does not receive the necessary permits, to complete the required information and to return renewal permits by the deadline. Any permit not renewed by June 1 is subject to cancellation – the operator must then pay the new permit fee and have the system inspected to be eligible to chemigate again.
Violators of the Chemigation Program will be submitted to county attorneys. Penalties consist of Class I, II, III or IV misdemeanors or a civil fine.