The Upper Niobrara White NRD serves the citizens of Box Butte, Dawes, Sheridan and most of Sioux Counties. We are dedicated to the conservation of natural resources of Northwest Nebraska.


The Natural Resources District system is unique to the State of Nebraska. This system was created by LB 1357 in the 1969 Unicameral session. The Upper Niobrara White NRD and 23 other Districts were then officially formed on July 1,1972 when the State Legislature enacted laws to combine 154 special-purpose entities. Districts were developed according to watershed basins, instead of by political boundaries. This system provided a more efficient management strategy because it solved the issues of overlapping authorities and lack of funds. Presently twenty-three districts exist, due to the combination of two Eastern NRDs.


NRDs have been given broad responsibilities to deal with a variety of natural resources issues including erosion, flood prevention, soil conservation, ground and surface water, pollution control, wildlife habitat, recreational facilities, forestry and range management. To perform these duties, NRDs use a combination of grant funds, revenues generated through programs, State dollars, and property taxes. Each District is governed by a locally elected Board of Directors, which ensures that local issues and concerns are addressed.


Nebraska’s natural resources vary greatly across the state. The Upper Niobrara White NRD contains Box Butte, Dawes, Sheridan and the upper 80% of Sioux Counties. This Northwest Nebraskan District is approximately 4.5 million acres comprised of the Pine Ridge forest, Sandhills, rangelands and crop ground. Fortunately, the local control granted to NRDs through elected Boards allows each District to address their particular issues with local solutions and relevant projects and programs.


Today, Nebraska's unique system of locally-controlled, tax-funded, watershed-based conservation is widely admired throughout the nation.



Under Nebraska state law, NRDs are charged with:

  • Erosion prevention and control
  • Prevention of damages from flood water and sediment
  • Flood prevention and control
  • Soil conservation
  • Water supply for any beneficial uses
  • Development, management, utilization, and conservation of groundwater and surface water
  • Pollution control
  • Solid waste disposal and drainage
  • Drainage improvement and channel rectification
  • Development and management of fish and wildlife habitat
  • Development and management of recreational and park facilities
  • Forestry and range management



The Upper Niobrara White NRD often works with other agencies and organizations to implement projects and programs, including:

Additional partners include cities, counties, the University of Nebraska-Lincoln Extension offices, Nebraska Forest Service, USDA Nebraska National Forest Service, other NRDs, and many local organizations.


Board of Directors

The Upper Niobrara White NRD's Board of Directors has eleven members, each of whom is elected by the public during the general election to serve a four-year term. Two members are elected from each of the five sub-districts and one is elected at-large. The Board meets once a month to review operations and vote on policies. The meetings are usually held at the UNWNRD office on the second Thursday of each month. However, a few meetings each year may be held in varying locations throughout the District on different dates. Please call the UNWNRD office for information on an upcoming meeting.


The members on the Board of Directors are as follows:

Subdistrict 1
Richard Zochol
1573 CR 54
Alliance, NE 69301
(308) 762-3803
James Irwin
2380 CR 59
Alliance, NE 69301
(308) 762-3059
Subdistrict 2
Curtis Roth
6072 270th Ln
Gordon, NE 69343
(308) 282-2949
Dale Berndt
3130 State Hwy 250
Lakeside, NE 69351
(308) 327-2585
Subdistrict 3
David Kadlecek
P.O. Box 250
Hay Springs, NE 69347
(308) 638-7426
Dale Anderson
7184 Hwy 20
Chadron, NE 69337
(308) 432-5285
Subdistrict 4
John Burke
7308 Thomas Rd.
Alliance, NE 69301
(308) 762-5151
Tod Dorshorst
4745 410th Ln
Hay Springs, NE 69347
(308) 232-4436
Subdistrict 5
Larry Teahon
930 Morehead Street
Chadron, NE 69337
(308) 432-5112
James Lees
106 Haynes Rd.
Whitney, NE 69367
(308) 667-2754
Steve Sandberg
4457 470th Ln
Hay Springs, NE 69347
(308) 232-4421
Each Director serves on one or more Committees within the UNWNRD. The current Committees are:

Steve Sandberg, Chairman
Tod Dorshorst, Vice-Chairman
Curtis Roth , Sec.-Treas.
John Burke, Past Chairman
John Burke, Chairman
Tod Dorshorst
Curtis Roth
Richard Zochol
James Irwin
Curtis Roth, Chairman
David Kadlecek
John Burke
James Lees
David Kadlecek, Chairman
Larry Teahon
James Lees
Richard Zochol
James Lees, Chairman
Dale Berndt
David Kadlecek
Dale Anderson
Curtis Roth, NARD* Rep.
Steve Sandberg, NARD Alternate
David Kadlecek DNR** Rep.
*NE Association of Resources Districts
** Department of Natural Resources



The Upper Niobrara White NRD currently employs eleven staff members. Nine employees work at the UNWNRD office in Chadron and three work as NRCS Secretaries in the Alliance, Chadron and Rushville field offices.

Lyndon Vogt, General Manager
Manages all District operations and policies, Budget development
Lynn Webster, Assistant Manager
Ground Water Quantity, Well Permits, GIS, Cost-share Programs: Flow meters, Pivot conversions, Home water treatment systems, Well Decommissioning
Sheri Daniels, Water Resources Manager
Ground Water Quality, Chemigation Program assistance, Ground Water Sampling Program, Domestic Well Sampling, Web Master, Information and Education Programs
Jason Moudry, Resources Manager
Tree orders, windbreak planning, wildlife habitat planning, Cost-share programs: WILD Nebraska, Corners for Wildlife. Irrigation Flow meter reading, Wellhead Protection community assistance, Crop Water Use Reports, Chemigation inspections
Katie Harris, Administrative Assistant

Accounting, Payroll, Billing, Nebraska Soil and Water Conservation Program (NSWCP) processing, Chemigation Program, Budget Assistance, Wellness Coordinator


Haley Anders, Resources Technician
Water Programs Support, Meter, Water Sampling, Chemigation inspections, Tree Program support
Sharyl Sapp, Resources Technician
Water Programs Support, Irrigation Flow meter reading, Water sample collection, Chemigation inspections, Tree Program support
Brenda Schnell, Alliance NRCS Field Office Secretary
NRCS/UNWNRD liaison, NRCS Secretary
Ann Cotton, Chadron NRCS Field Office Secretary
NRCS/UNWNRD liaison, NRCS Secretary
Glenda Cushing, Rushville NRCS Field Office Secretary
NRCS/UNWNRD liaison, NRCS Secretary